27th June 1974 saw the birth and official registration of the National Union of the Teaching Profession or NUTP in short. It was the result of the merger of two pioneer teachers' unions, namely the National Union of Teachers (NUT) and the  National School Teachers National Union (KKGSK). The first president of the newly formed Union was Tuan Haji Ahmad bin Abdul Rahman and Mr. Aloysius Mathews was the first Secretary-General.

Uniqueness of NUTP

A unique feature of NUTP is that its membership is all encompassing and broad-based covering all categories of schools and all categories of teachers. Today, NUTP is the single utmost largest teacher's Union in the country and perhaps in the whole of South East Asia, with a total membership of 172,995 (2012) and has 12 branches nationwide.It is indeed one of the strongest workers' union in the country - a force to be reckoned with! 

NUTP is a national level Union and all its branches conduct union activities at the state level, thus facilitating administration at the national level and ensuring that every single matters works out thoroughly, smoothly and effectively. Every Branch has its own administration office and its own local committee. 


NUTP Head Quarters

The brief history of previous locations and its current location

1979 – Present
13-15, Jalan Murai Dua
Kompleks Batu, Off Jalan Ipoh
51100 Kuala Lumpur. 

1969 - 1978
No.16A, Jalan Balam Off Jalan Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur. 

1964 - 1969
No. 321 C, 
Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman
Kuala Lumpur.

1962 - 1963
Bilik 409, Bangunan Insuran China
Jalan Batu, Kuala Lumpur.

No. 4 (Tingkat Atas)
Jalan Ampang
Kuala Lumpur. 

1954 - 1957 
Bangunan Chan Wing
Jalan Mountbatten
Kuala Lumpur.